Art class 101

So, yesterday I held my first ever art class for homeschoolers!

Remember, I’m the one who will NEVER be a teacher… hey, I’m not a huge fan of other people’s kids… so my head says… I don’t “get them”!!! Adults… they’re complex but I can relate… well, sometimes!!!

But, never one to do things by halves… I got myself over my fear of children (ha ha… just to reassure you, especially if was your children who came!!, this is all a little tongue in cheek!) and planned a lesson… seemed to go pretty well…

Information sheet about Piet Mondrian… check!

“Buy in”… let’s see if we can “do” Mondrian style in lego first… that way we can fiddle around with the pieces if it doesn’t quite look right! The kids decided they’d take it in turns putting the black lines in first… good choice… and then we looked at it… hmmm… some shapes that were not square or rectangle… we can fix that… you pull that piece off… you put that bit in there… and finally they added the colour! I confess I just want to look at it all the time!!! Think this bit worked! Check!

Sketch your design out in your workbook… check… (some of them realised if they just put a representative colour marker in their boxes that would also work… others filled their boxes in properly!)

Draw your lines on your canvas… paint your boxes… check

Have afternoon tea and a run around while the paint dries… check!

Add electrical tape to divide your colour sections… and you’re done!

They all seemed to have a great time… and were a great bunch of kids! I think we can call the afternoon a success!

Especially for someone who isn’t a teacher!

(As an aside, this whole thing has got me thinking about an idea! More later when I’ve nutted it out!)

 

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment