Is this for real?

Today was our first day of homeschooling! Okay, so it was a bit random, but it was fun!

Friday morning I sent my son to school as usual… this morning I greeted him with “Good morning, D!” and he responded in his usual eccentric humour with “Good morning, Teacher!… er… what am I supposed to call you now?!” “Let’s just stick with mum, eh?!”

Might not seem like much… but he’s not fighting it… and his humour is intact. BIG things in my book!

Since I have not a clue what we’re doing yet… and I have an almost five year old who couldn’t get to kinder while our car is at the mechanic… decided to ride (PE, right?!) up to the big playpark (wow, when did I last have time to do that?!) and see if we could map it while little sis played!

So… we took a massive tape measure, pencil, and some graph paper (mental note: a clipboard would be handy! Rookie’s mistake!)

Hmmm… the park is not a regular shape… how to map it… some problem solving… oh yeah, why don’t you write down what problems you encounter and what solutions you might have. In due course a map was drawn with all the equipment. Good fortune would have it that a group of council dudes was standing nearby discussing landscaping… thanks to some initiative and a interaction and the trade of email addresses we now have some detailed maps in our inbox! Bonus points!

Okay, figuring that’s maths kind of taken care of for the day… or was it geography?! Let’s see what else we can come up with… how about a story about what happens at the park when the kids have gone home and darkness has fallen? Ah yes, it had to include some dwarves, a Hobbit, and a wizard called Gandalf… I look forward to the “to be continued…”

My SIL helped out with the marking (teacher) and the creation of a wordlist from creatively spelled words! Ah, this isn’t as hard as I thought! (so far!)

Now… an excursion to Middle Earth?! You are joking right? Well… we’ll see… that’s tomorrow’s tale… and right now… I need sleep… it’s been a big day for both of us!

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

