Elvish Poetry

This morning I was woken to the sound of my son quoting Elvish poetry next to my bed. To be fair, he had threatened to wake me with this the night before! It was early. Seriously, we’ve made it to day two? Surely this must be a dream. Perhaps I’ll just close my eyes again. I’m tired and my brain feels foggy.

The business of the day: a school name, crest, motto, and welcome sign! Shouldn’t be too hard, right?! Apparently everything must be connected to LOTR! But hey, if this means a kid who is relaxed and cheery I’m right there! A brief moment of “I can’t do this…” but otherwise full-steam ahead. Oh by the way, the motto is “Where it is desolate, always expect a dragon”…

We took a taxi to kinder then walked back home, stopped for a whiteboard at the shops along the way! A school needs a whiteboard, right?! And then… is that the library we’re about to walk past?! Of course… “We’re doing library today!” Ha! This teaching gig isn’t so bad… the teacher knows EXACTLY what she’s doing! Okay,  maybe not more than 10 seconds ahead of time but I got let into a secret today… even “real” teachers wing it some of the time! Good to know!

Wasn’t I the parent who came away from school information night Thursday saying the other parents were a bit full-on… I mean seriously… they know what their kids are doing for homework… as if… that’s what school is for… I send them… they get smart… if they need help with their homework they can ask me… otherwise… let’s talk about something more fun! Oh boy, now it’s Tuesday and I’m trying to figure out what subject we do at school in intimate detail! God sure has a sense of humour…. but that’s tomorrow’s post!

Mid afternoon and it’s all starting to feel a bit overwhelming (there is power in understatement!)… the school that looks appealing has a waiting list (as do all the other suitable local schools)… I could be doing this impossible thing a long time…

Made some enquiries about local homeschooling groups… they will judge you right down to the colour of your hair… mine is purple… Houston, I think we might have a problem…

Finished the day with a trip to Officeworks… the teacher needs some pretty stationery of course… its’ called sanity… pictures to come!

But for now, it’s bedtime… maybe tomorrow I’ll wake up and find this has all been a dream…

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

