It takes a village…

It Takes a Village to Raise a Child in Victoria BC

This week I have been so grateful for all the people who have helped me get to the point of having some vague hope of tackling this immense task…

There are the friends who’ve cried with me, prayed with me and for me, cheered me on from the sidelines, dropped me an encouraging note in the post, called up, or just believed in me… 

My husband who is willing to trust my instincts as a mother and support me in this even though I know there are a bunch of questions still in his mind…

There are the friends and family who have helped me find resources, navigate through the Australian curriculum, come to the school bookshop, worked on timetabling, shared their own experience of homeschooling…

There are the people who’ve offered to help practically… Grandma who is having fun (I hope!) writing a multi-disciplinary project relating to his love of NZ (home of the LOTR), Grandad who’s offered to teach language and theology a morning week, my brother who is heading up the woodwork department, his big sister who wants to teach him art, and those who’ve offered to do some home economics, or other things with him… 

There are the people who have taken the time to know him, care for him, laugh at his jokes, and understand him, love him… and all the more for his sensitive, quirky nature not everyone seems to get…

It’s been a HUGE jump off the cliff but I don’t for a minute regret this decision… though along the way there will be a few meltdowns I’m sure!!!

So thank you. You know who you are. I love the people in my village. x

 

 

 

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It takes a village…

  1. Suey girl says:

    So bungee jumping a not out of the question since you have succeeded in cliff jumping!😜

  2. Reckoningitalljoy says:

    As you used to tell me, you jump off and find yourself swimming rather than drowning. Wait, you don’t like swimming either, do you?! 😉

    You’re doing well. Keep trusting in God, and let your village help x

Leave a Reply

