Empathy…

So… it’s been two weeks since I pulled him from school (grade 5)… and already the benefits are starting to appear…

I know it’s early days but what I see is a different kid.

He’s happier in himself.

He’s chatty. All the time. (No more long spells in his room)

He can express that he’s done something well (bowl me over, I’ve been waiting a long time). Things his family have long commended him on but he has always said he’s bad at.

He’s found empathy. Forever I’ve noticed that although his big sister is very good at responding to how others feel he just never does. Until now. For the first time ever as far as I can remember he’s started asking me how I’m going. “Are you okay mum?” May not seem like a big thing but from where I’m sitting it’s huge. I know it may be coming from all sorts of stuff but yesterday I was teary and he asked me a number of times if I was okay and we were able to talk about how I’m really sad that I can’t do something I’ve wanted to for a long time. And it felt like he really listened, and really cared. I cannot express to you enough how new this is.

He’s excited about learning. Some nights I’ve had to tell him to stop researching and go to bed! Sure, it’s stuff he’s interested in, but still… it’s exciting for me too!

And his big sister is relating to him in a whole different way too. She’s really become his protector in a really different, more relaxed way. It’s nice. This morning she taught him art… Trees with faces on them… 🙂 They did it together… both very different trees… I look forward to the progression…

What is it down to?!

Well, you know, the counsellor in me (yep,that’s my training, gets me in trouble all the time! 😉 ) thinks that now he’s no longer in self-protection mode from the constant verbal (and sometimes physical) bullying he has space in himself to expand who he is… his walls are coming down little by little… he is in a safe environment where he can be himself, where people enjoy him for who he is, especially his quirks!

And it’s wonderful.

As a mother this is everything you want for your child, isn’t it? For them to be healthy, happy and comfortable in themselves, loving and being loved, enjoying life…

Now I’m off to read some of this book… I think I might need it!

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empathy…

Leave a Reply

