Scootle and the National Curriculum (Australia)

Wow!

I wouldn’t have had a clue except that I have a good friend who is a teacher… who is very sharing!!!

So… one of the things I have found really helpful in working out what we want to study is to look at the National Curriculum… http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/ which has very clear guidelines on topics that are being taught in schools. As someone who has landed in Homeschooling with no warning so to speak I’ve found it really helpful to have something to use as a basis. I know that others are using particular programs but this has so far been my best method of providing continuity and also offering an option for him to one day go back to a school environment without having missed out on covering key learning topics.

In conjunction with the National Curriculum is Scootle (http://www.scootle.edu.au/ec/p/home) which is a brilliant teacher resource which provides all sorts of lesson plans, videos for kids, handouts you can print out. Frankly, if you’re game, it will really help you teach any of the subjects on the NC yourself!

Yep, I’m game!

So, maybe everyone knows this but hey, if you’re like me and jumped off the deep end you might be glad to know that although Scootle is for teachers, if you have got your homeschool registration papers (woot! I just got mine Friday!) you can email info at Scootle, ask to be able access the system and once you’ve provided a copy of your registration and some info they will give you access to the system! I cannot tell you how much of a blessing this is!

So, now you know… don’t say I didn’t tell you!

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scootle and the National Curriculum (Australia)

  1. I cannot tell you how pleased I am that they let you in! Scootle takes a bit of getting your head around, but it rocks.

Leave a Reply

