“What’s the point of being bland?”

That’s the rhetorical question a friend asked me tonight!

And what a great thought! Yup, we don’t do bland in our house! Not ever!

“Bland is banned!”

Life is to be lived… sure there’s the stuff that “has” to be done! But the rest of the time we try to find joy in the larger than life! Whether it be humour, or friendship, or getting involved in projects no one else would tackle…

No one remembers the mundane… they remember the extraordinary!

I want to create memories with him that will last a lifetime! Memories that can be relayed through the years! Not negative, depressing memories… life has enough of them… but memories that are fully of joy, and warmth! Memories that remind him that he is loved!

And that got me thinking about life in general!

As a Christian there’s a temptation to be bland too! To fit right on in! Hey, you don’t need to be among non-believers to fit right in! You can do it amongst Christians too! It feels safe…

I’m going to pretend everything in my life it easy…

I’m going to pretend that I’m trusting God right now…

I’m going to stay “safe” with my friendships…

I’m not going to step out in faith…

I’m going to commit in my head but not my heart…

Problem with a bland Christian life? We miss out on so much…

What I’ve discovered over the years is that when we step out in faith and obedience to God He’s going to ask us to take risks, to trust Him… and in that we will create memories that stick with us… extraordinary memories of how God worked THROUGH us, DESPITE us… to transform lives into His likeness… both our own, and others…

I’ve been reading “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day” recently and really been challenged to think again about how the difficult situations in our lives are not a call to complain or wish for something easier… but rather a call to worship a God who loves us beyond anything we can measure, who wants to see us grow in trust and love for Him. Nothing bland about that, I can assure you!

In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day   -     By: Mark Batterson<br />

There are some really thought provoking discussions in this book… definitely worth a read…

Just type “Amazing” into Pinterest and you will be blown away by how incredibly un-bland God’s creation is! I’m going to leave you with an image from my native Scotland, the Fairy Pools on the Isle of Skye!

Twitter / AmazingWorldPic: The Fairy Pools, Scotland. ...

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

