Thinking outside the box!

Since I’ve stepped outside the school box it’s made me really look at the box from a whole different angle!

See, while I was inside the box I had a whole bunch of assumptions… not only about what the box should or did look like, but also what things outside the box looked like…

Not only am I looking at the box from a different angle, I’m also looking around and seeing that there are different boxes I can look into (isn’t the WWW a great innovation when used to its best!)

Funny, the box is a LOT different to what I thought it looked like… from this angle…

So, I’ve been thinking about my two kids at home (my other kid would string me up if I took her out of school! And that’s okay!) and how they learn… one is more focussed and concentrated… the other is more ADD!!! lol I don’t think she ACTUALLY is, but she is definitely a bundle of non-stop energy. So, I’m wondering about how I’d go homeschooling her next year when she starts “school”. I certainly am leaning more towards the more hands-on, visual type approaches. I think they’d keep her more engaged (and me too, let’s be honest!) than the straight bookwork approach.

I find the Montessori (and similar) method has a lot of appeal (haven’t got so much into the background philosophy yet) as a part of homeschooling method. I like how serious learning can be done in so many different fun ways.

I also love classical type learning… I believe kids should be exposed to a whole lot of educational opportunities that cross culture, history, people groups, and so on.

I really enjoy seeing how everyday experiences can be broadened to have educational benefit when used creatively and purposefully (not so much a fan of unschooling as a philosophy for myself as an aside, though some obviously swear by it).

I guess one of the beauties of homeschooling is you have the opportunity to pick and choose… or to follow a particular curriculum if you prefer. There are just so many options. What I’m beginning to see is that some options seem to “fit” better… and part of that is knowing yourself and your style as a teacher, and knowing your kids and their style of learning… and being willing to be flexible if something doesn’t work.

It’s actually refreshing to have a foot in the homeschool and in the school camp. It gives me a chance to look at both with different eyes. I have no intention of rushing into decision making for next year… just exploring and trying not to jump to pre-conceived ideas!

Do you follow a particular model of education or an eclectic one? Do you have different kids you use different methods/resources with?

To be continued… at a later date…

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thinking outside the box!

  1. Sarah Nicholson says:

    Definitely I’m eclectic too!

  2. Pingback: April Aussie Homeschool Blog Post Round Up - AussieHomeschool AussieHomeschool

Leave a Reply

