Franz Xaver Messerschmidt

Never heard of him!?

Me either!

Wanted to have a bit of fun with clay in art class this week so went hunting for artists who worked in a medium that would be suitable. Found all your typical Michelangelo types… a bit unrealistic perhaps and kind of unimaginative… and then I came across this dude quite by chance!

Awestruck!

Isn’t he amazing… what’s not to love. No matter the world thought he was crazy!

I mean, we’re talking like over 250 years ago and he pulls this sort of stuff… all 64 of them… the kids laughed uproariously!

So, first things first… I took a photo of them all pulling a crazy face and printed them out for inspiration.

Then I got them drawing 6 different expressions in their books… go as crazy and imaginative as you like…

DSC00089 - CopyDSC00087 - Copy

And then we cracked the clay out to see how outrageous a portrait we could create! They did not disappoint!

DSC00095DSC00101DSC00102DSC00098DSC00099 - CopyDSC00097DSC00096DSC00104DSC00103DSC00105DSC00100 Impressed? I was…!!!

Here’s another heads up if you’re in Australia… picked up this book today… lots of fun activities to introduce younger kids to real artists…

The Art Creativity Book

It’s currently on sale at QBD Bookstores (click the photo to find the link) for $5.95 which is an absolute steal! Rush in! Be a great gift too just as an aside… I so dislike buying toys for birthdays!

PS: Sorry it’s taken so long to get this post up… I promise I haven’t been totally morose like my last post since then… my father in law has been really sick and my sister in law has come through major surgery so it’s been busy without a man about the house for the last week! I have my days but hopefully I will have a bit more time to post soon! So many things to share with you all! Happy weekend!

 

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Franz Xaver Messerschmidt

  1. redhearts08 says:

    Somehow the name rings a bell …

Leave a Reply

