Reflections on teaching prep…!!

Over the next few weeks I’m hoping to share some of the highlights and things we’ve learned so far this year… there are so many things to share!

One of the biggest challenges has been getting my head around homeschooling 3 very different kids. But honestly, the trickiest one by far (from my point of view!) is not the high schooler, it’s the prep student! Teaching someone the basics of reading and writing and maths etc has been a stretch. I’ve learned a whole bunch and I know there is a whole bunch still to learn! But even more than that… helping them learn the skill of more structured learning has definite challenges.

She is the wriggly, boisterous, non-stop one in the family. That means there is constant falling off seats, pleading to do something else when a particular job needs doing, requests for snacks, requests for hugs, climbing etc! She definitely needs opportunity to move and burn off energy! And I’ve had a steep learning curve about kinesthetic learners! It is so far from my learning style it can be incredibly tiring, physically and mentally! But we are getting there… little bit by little bit… most days…

Do you know, I can get far more productivity if we do a bit of work, and then I ask her to run to the trampoline and back ten times, and then we do some more work?! Who knew?! Fun times!

We have loved exploring the hands on nature of “Prime Maths”, available through Scholastic. Building with lego bricks, counters, 3D objects, etc has made learning much more interesting for sure!

Earlier in the year she declared that she did not want to learn to read. That seemed a bit surprising until we probed a little further and discovered that it was because she thought that learning to read would mean she had to constantly have her nose in a book like her big brother… and have no time for other exciting things! Slowly we are making progress with reading.

But ask the girl to create a story in drama… we have amazingly complex plot lines, suspense, movement, crescendo, voice tone, dramatic pauses, and so on. It’s quite amazing to watch! And then there is the composing and singing of songs… She may not like to read too much yet, but she certainly understands language and uses it to its full potential!

And then there is sport! At the moment she is protesting that she is not allowed to learn tennis with her big brother. Mind you, lest you rush to take her side in this… she has just come off a season of soccer, plays cricket Saturdays, dancing Thursdays, and swimming lessons Wednesdays… my budget and time will only stretch so far! I suspect, however, she may wear me down eventually! Certainly she did not get her ability to make contact with a ball from me!

And she loves to draw and create! Paper, pencils, paints, scissors, glue, boxes, whatever… it’s all a source of imagination!

And hey, if you can do schoolwork in a giraffe onesie… why wouldn’t you!?

About purplecamels

I'm a slightly crazy mother of 3, wife of 1, who loves adding colour to everything, being creative, and spending time with people. I am very grateful God is in control, though sometimes I wish He'd give a little more notice when He's got plans for my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections on teaching prep…!!

  1. cassiescuddles says:

    Yep, that sounds about right. You realise just how different each child is. Can you imagine how much you will know your kiddies by the end of this journey? I’m so glad I homeschooled, I hope that you will be too.

  2. Movement breaks. .. Every Junior school teacher’s best friend! Every time their attention wandered, I’d get everyone out of their seat and moving

Leave a Reply

